A special treat in the Cairngorms

20160813_085305_-2_-3_tonemapped“Kim”

I grunted back. Verbally swatting away this wasp that was dragging me, kicking and screaming, from a fitful sleep. The best I’d enjoyed all trip.

“Kim”

Still hushed but more urgent now; I recognised it as Adam.

“Huh?”

I’d managed to form an almost word this time. Of which I was altogether too proud.

“I can see the sky if you want to come and have a look?”

Strange words if I hadn’t already spent much of the day perusing weather forecasts for the area and trying fruitlessly to find the best spot with the highest likelihood of clear skies.

I was warm, and cozy, and snoozing beautifully and I could tell as soon as I made to sit up that it was bitterly cold everywhere but cocooned within my sleeping bag.

But we’d wanted this. We’d set alarms for this. So, almost drunkenly, I attempted to grab at my coat, blinding myself in the process as I made the mistake of reaching for the torch.

20160813_085628_HDR_-2_-3_tonemappedTo say I was like a newborn giraffe that had drunk more than one too many wouldn’t be an exaggeration. And so I found myself, laces untied, shivering uncontrollably, staring skywards on the rocks that  protruded in amongst a thundering river. If I’d been Lauren Juliff (or possessed even a fraction of her bad luck!) I’d have been in.

Teeth chattering uncontrollably and clinging to Adam, I waited for my eyes to adjust back to the darkness (after the aforementioned torch blinding!) and the rest of my senses to come to.

And then it happened.

A fireball shot across the sky: brighter and faster than anything I’d ever encountered before.

A yelp and consequent giggles were ripped from my throat in shock and I gripped Adam’s arm even tighter, fearful that the overwhelming glee and shock would cause me to topple into the fast-flowing stream surrounding us.

Sitting down on the grass verge behind us and laying down, we continued to spot frequent, but less prominent meteors breaking through the atmosphere, marvelling at the vastness of the universe and how comparatively inconsequential we were.

Eventually, the cold became too much, and so, regretfully, we staggered back to the warmth and comfort of the tent, still awestruck at how spoilt we were to be treated by such wonder whilst conveniently in such a perfect isolated spot: away from the light pollution that plagues so much of the Western world, particularly on our little island.

shooting-star
Obviously not my image, but surprisingly close to our view that night.
Leave a Reply

